From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Return on investment (ROI) or return on costs (ROC) is a ratio between net income (over a period) and investment (costs resulting from an investment of some resources at a point in time). A high ROI means the investment’s gains compare favourably to its cost. As a performance measure, ROI is used to evaluate the efficiency of an investment or to compare the efficiencies of several different investments.[1] In economic terms, it is one way of relating profits to capital invested.
Purpose[edit]
In business, the purpose of the return on investment (ROI) metric is to measure, per period, rates of return on money invested in an economic entity in order to decide whether or not to undertake an investment. It is also used as an indicator to compare different investments within a portfolio. The investment with the largest ROI is usually prioritized, even though the spread of ROI over the time period of an investment should also be taken into account. Recently, the concept has also been applied to scientific funding agencies’ (e.g., National Science Foundation) investments in research of open source hardware and subsequent returns for direct digital replication.[2]
ROI and related metrics provide a snapshot of profitability, adjusted for the size of the investment assets tied up in the enterprise. ROI is often compared to expected (or required) rates of return on money invested. ROI is not time-adjusted (unlike e.g. net present value): most textbooks describe it with a «Year 0» investment and two to three years’ income.
Marketing decisions have an obvious potential connection to the numerator of ROI (profits), but these same decisions often influence assets’ usage and capital requirements (for example, receivables and inventories). Marketers should understand the position of their company and the returns expected.[3] For a marketing ROI percentage to be credible, the effects of the marketing program must be isolated from other influences when reported to executives.[4] In a survey of nearly 200 senior marketing managers, 77 percent responded that they found the «return on investment» metric very useful.[3]
Return on investment may be extended to terms other than financial gain. For example, social return on investment (SROI) is a principles-based method for measuring extra-financial value (i.e., environmental and social value not currently reflected in conventional financial accounts) relative to resources invested. It can be used by any entity to evaluate the impact on stakeholders, identify ways to improve performance and enhance the performance of investments.
Limitations with ROI usage[edit]
As a decision tool, it is simple to understand. The simplicity of the formula allows users to freely choose variables, e.g., length of the calculation time, whether overhead cost is included, or which factors are used to calculate income or cost components. The use of ROI as an indicator for prioritizing investment projects alone can be misleading since usually the ROI figure is not accompanied by an explanation of its make-up.[citation needed] ROI should be accompanied by the underlying data that forms the inputs, this is often in the format of a business case. For long-term investments, the need for a Net Present Value adjustment is great and without it the ROI is incorrect. Similar to discounted cash flow, a Discounted ROI should be used instead. One limitation associated with the traditional ROI calculation is that it does not fully «capture the short-term or long-term importance, value, or risks associated with natural and social capital»[5] because it does not account for the environmental, social, and governance performance of an organization. Without a metric for measuring the short- and long-term environmental, social and governance performance of a firm, decision makers are planning for the future without considering the extent of the impacts associated with their decisions. One or more separate measures, aligned with relevant compliance functions, are frequently provided for this purpose.
Calculation[edit]
Return on investment can be calculated in different ways depending on the goal and application. The most comprehensive formula is:
Return on investment (%) = (current value of investment if not exited yet or sold price of investment if exited + income from investment − initial investment and other expenses) / initial investment and other expenses x 100%.
Example with a share of stock:
You bought 1 share of stock for US$100 and paid a buying commission of US$5. Then over a year you received US$4 of dividends and sold the share 1 year after you bought it for US$200 paying a US$5 selling commission.
Your ROI is the following:
ROI = (200 + 4 — 100 — 5 — 5) / (100 + 5 + 5) x 100% = 85.45%
As the duration of this investment is 1 year, this ROI is annual.
For a single-period review, divide the return (net profit) by the resources that were committed (investment):[3]
- return on investment = Net income / Investment
- where:
- Net income = gross profit − expenses.
- investment = stock + market outstanding[when defined as?] + claims.
or
- return on investment = (gain from investment − cost of investment) / cost of investment[1]
or
- return on investment = (revenue − cost of goods sold) / cost of goods sold
or
- return on investment = (net program benefits / program costs) x 100 [6]
Property[edit]
Complications in calculating ROI can arise when real property is refinanced, or a second mortgage is taken out. Interest on a second, or refinanced, loan may increase, and loan fees may be charged, both of which can reduce the ROI, when the new numbers are used in the ROI equation. There may also be an increase in maintenance costs and property taxes, and an increase in utility rates if the owner of a residential rental or commercial property pays these expenses.
Complex calculations may also be required for property bought with an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM) with a variable escalating rate charged annually through the duration of the loan.
Marketing investment[edit]
Marketing not only influences net profits but also can affect investment levels too. New plants and equipment, inventories, and accounts receivable are three of the main categories of investments that can be affected by marketing decisions.[3]
RoA, RoNA, RoC, and RoIC, in particular, are similar measures with variations on how ‘investment’ is defined.[3]
ROI is a popular metric for heads of marketing because of marketing budget allocation. Return on Investment helps identify marketing mix activities that should continue to be funded and which should be cut.
Return on integration (ROInt)[edit]
To address the lack of integration of the short and long term importance, value and risks associated with natural and social capital into the traditional ROI calculation, companies are valuing their environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance through an integrated management approach to reporting that expands ROI to Return on Integration.[5] This allows companies to value their investments not just for their financial return but also the long term environmental and social return of their investments. By highlighting environmental, social and governance performance in reporting, decision makers have the opportunity to identify new areas for value creation that are not revealed through traditional financial reporting.[7] The social cost of carbon is one value that can be incorporated into Return on Integration calculations to encompass the damage to society from greenhouse gas emissions that result from an investment. This is an integrated approach to reporting that supports Integrated Bottom Line (IBL) decision making, which takes triple bottom line (TBL) a step further and combines financial, environmental and social performance reporting into one balance sheet. This approach provides decision makers with the insight to identify opportunities for value creation that promote growth and change within an organization.[8]
See also[edit]
- Bang for the buck
- Energy return on energy invested
- Internal rate of return
- Marketing plan
- Price–earnings ratio
- Rate of profit
- Rate of return (RoR), also known as ‘rate of profit’ or sometimes just ‘return’, is the ratio of money gained or lost (whether realized or unrealized) on an investment relative to the amount of money invested
- Return on assets (RoA)
- Return on brand (ROB)
- Return on capital employed (ROCE)
- Return on capital (RoC)
- Return on equity (ROE)
- Return on invested capital (RoIC)
- Return on marketing investment (ROMI) is «the contribution attributable to marketing (net of marketing spending), divided by the marketing ‘invested’ or risked
- Return on modeling effort (ROME)
- Return on net assets (RoNA)
- ROI for information technology is used to evaluate applications portfolios and information systems
- Time to value
References[edit]
- ^ a b «Return On Investment – ROI», Investopedia as accessed 8 January 2013
- ^ Pearce, J. M. (2016). «Return on investment for open source scientific hardware development» (PDF). Science and Public Policy. 43 (2): 192–195. doi:10.1093/scipol/scv034.
- ^ a b c d e Farris, Paul W.; Neil T. Bendle; Phillip E. Pfeifer; David J. Reibstein (2010). Marketing Metrics: The Definitive Guide to Measuring Marketing Performance. Upper Saddle River, New Jersey: Pearson Education, Inc. ISBN 0137058292. The Marketing Accountability Standards Board (MASB) endorses the definitions, purposes, and constructs of classes of measures that appear in Marketing Metrics as part of its ongoing Common Language in Marketing Project.
- ^ Phillips, Jack J., Frank Q. Fu, Patricia Pulliam Phillips, and Hong Yi. (2020) ROI in Marketing: The design thinking approach to measure, prove, and improve the value of marketing. McGraw-Hill Publishing. Page 178.
- ^ a b Sroufe, Robert (2018). Integrated Management: How Sustainability Creates Value for Any Business. Emerald Publishing. p. 268.
- ^ Phillips, Patricia Pulliam, Jack J. Phillips, Gina Paone, and Cyndi Huff Gaudet. (2019) Value for Money: How to show the value for money for all types of projects and programs in governments, nongovernmental organizations, nonprofits, and businesses. John Wiley and Sons Publishing. Page 335. (
- ^ Eccles, Robert; Krzus, Michael (2010). One Report: Integrated Reporting for a Sustainable Strategy. Wiley. ISBN 9780470587515.
- ^ Sroufe, Robert (July 2017). «Integration and Organizational Change Towards Sustainability.» Journal of Cleaner Production». Journal of Cleaner Production. 162: 315–329. doi:10.1016/j.jclepro.2017.05.180 – via Research Gate.
Filter by:
Sort by:PopularityAlphabeticallyCategory
Term | Definition | Rating |
---|---|---|
ROI |
Return on investment Business » Stock Exchange — and more… |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Region Of Interest Governmental » Military — and more… |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Regions Of Interest Governmental » US Government |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Republic Of Ireland Regional » Countries |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Rate Of Increase Internet » Chat |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Release Of Information Medical » Hospitals — and more… |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Return On Innovation Business » General Business |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Return On Internet Computing » Telecom |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Rate Of Income Business » Occupation & Positions |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Record Of Invention Business » General Business |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Return On Information Computing » Telecom |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Rural Opportunities, Inc. Community » Non-Profit Organizations |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Radius Of Influence Academic & Science » Chemistry |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Republic Of India Regional » Countries |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Risk Of Investment Business » General Business |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Radio One, Inc. Business » Companies & Firms |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Run On Ice Community |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Remote Operator Interface Governmental » Military |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Route Of Ingress Governmental » Military |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Radical Online Initiative Internet |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Racing On Interstates Governmental » Police |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Results Oriented Instructors Academic & Science » Universities |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Record Of Initiative Community » Educational |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Reactive Oxygen Intermediate Medical » British Medicine |
Rate it: |
ROI |
Really Outrageous Interpretation Governmental » Law & Legal |
Rate it: |
12ALL
12ALL
Маркетинг • 21 октября 2022 • 5 мин чтения
Можно посчитать, какую прибыль принёс каждый рубль, вложенный в бизнес или рекламу. Разбираем на примерах три нужные для этого и совсем не страшные формулы: ROI, ROMI и ROAS
Performance marketing manager
- Что такое ROI
- Зачем считать показатель ROI
- В чём отличия ROI, ROMI, ROAS
- Формула расчёта ROI
- Какой ROI считается хорошим
- Пример расчёта ROI
- Совет эксперта
Что такое ROI
Предприниматель постоянно вкладывает деньги в развитие бизнеса, например, закупает рекламу, оборудование, платит аренду или разработку мобильного приложения. Когда нужно понять, окупаются эти вложения или нет, считают показатель ROI (от англ. Return on investment, возврат инвестиций).
ROI — это процентное соотношение между доходом и инвестициями в бизнес. Чем выше процент — тем эффективнее инвестиции.
Считать можно инвестиции во что угодно: в оборудование, аренду или рекламу у блогеров. ROI применяют для анализа рентабельности любых вложений в бизнес.
В маркетинге ROI — это окупаемость рекламных кампаний. Например, можно рассчитать эффективность вложений в рассылку или рекламу в соцсетях.
ROI — не универсальный коэффициент. В некоторых сферах бизнеса он может давать ошибочные данные. Например, в сложных B2B нишах, когда каждый месяц — разная прибыль, невозможно учесть все нюансы и получить точную цифру расходов, метрика ROI будет неточной.
Переводим цели в цифры: как определить KPI
Зачем считать показатель ROI
ROI помогает оценить, насколько выгоден весь бизнес или отдельный проект с учётом всех вложений в него. Поэтому при расчёте ROI нужно учитывать все расходы и доходы, которые получила компания за определённый период, например, за месяц или квартал. Если нужно посчитать ROI отдельного проекта, то его считают после завершения кампании.
По расчёту ROI будет понятно, закрывать проект или продолжать работать, убрать канал продвижения или увеличить бюджет на него, развивать рекламную кампанию или запустить новую.
На курсе «Интернет-маркетолог» опытные наставники научат находить ответы на сложные вопросы, проводить исследования, запускать и анализировать рекламу, работать с маркетинговой воронкой и продвигаться в поиске. А после обучения помогут найти работу по новой специальности: 78% выпускников Практикума трудоустраиваются в течение четырёх месяцев после выпуска.
Станьте универсальным специалистом в интернет-рекламе
Попробуйте себя в роли трафик‑менеджера: пройдите бесплатную вводную часть курса.
В чём отличия ROI, ROMI, ROAS
Не только ROI оценивает эффективность инвестиций в бизнес — нужно учитывать показатели ROMI и ROAS.
ROMI — это возврат инвестиций в маркетинг (от англ. Return on marketing investment), а ROAS — показатель рентабельности рекламных расходов (от англ. Return on Advertising Spend, окупаемость расходов на рекламу).
Показывает, насколько эффективны все инвестиции в бизнес, включая затраты на производство товаров.
Показывает, эффективно ли продвижение по всем каналам: реклама в интернете и реальном мире, участие в акциях, выставках и шоу.
Показывает, насколько рентабельны расходы конкретно на рекламу: заработал ли бизнес больше, чем потратил на неё.
Если нужно узнать, выгодно ли вкладываться в рекламу во вконтакте, то надо считать ROAS. Разобраться, эффективны ли вложения во все рекламные кампании, поможет ROMI.
ROI понадобится, чтобы оценить в целом, выгодно ли запускать рекламу на всех площадках, открывать новый сайт и привлекать подрядчика для разработки мобильного приложения.
Юрий Вавилин
В интернет-маркетинге часто под ROI понимают именно ROMI — инвестиции в маркетинг. Даже встречается название «ROI-маркетинг», а считают его по формуле ROMI, поэтому возникает путаница.
Как посчитать ROMI
ROMI показывает, окупаются ли акции, контекстная, баннерная и таргетированная реклама, раздача флаеров. Учитывают все каналы продвижения, включая офлайн. ROMI считается от прибыли и выражается в процентах.
ROMI = (Доход — расход на маркетинг) / Расход на маркетинг * 100%
Если результат больше 0% — реклама окупается, вложения выгодны для компании. Меньше 0% — реклама не работает, бюджет расходуется зря. Если ровно 0% — вложения окупились, но прибыли нет.
Например, компания запустила рассылку и обучающий курс, который рекламирует в Яндекс Директе.
ROMI больше 0%, значит, вложения в рекламу в целом для компании выгодны. Чтобы узнать, какой канал продвижения более эффективен, то нужно посчитать ROAS.
Как посчитать ROAS
Если нужно узнать, какая именно реклама приносит больше прибыли — надо считать ROAS. ROAS тоже считается в процентах, но, в отличие от ROI, хороший показатель — больше 100%.
ROAS = (Доход от рекламы / Расход на рекламу) * 100%
Например, у компании работает несколько рекламных кампаний в разных каналах. Надо узнать, какая из них приносит больше денег. Для расчёта нужно взять сумму всех расходов на отдельную рекламную кампанию и сумму полученного с неё дохода.
Выяснилось, что реклама во вконтакте не выгодна и компания потеряла деньги на ней, зато другие каналы рентабельны. Имеет смысл пересмотреть креативы в соцсети — изменить тональность или оформление объявлений, чтобы реклама стала приносить больше прибыли, или отказаться от неё вовсе и сосредоточиться на других каналах продвижения.
Окупаемость инвестиций нельзя оценивать только по какому-то одному показателю, например, рассматривать отдельно коэффициент ROI или показатель ROAS. Всегда нужно анализировать данные вместе. Иначе можно получить искажённое восприятие рентабельности бизнеса.
Например, интернет-маркетолог рассчитал показатели и определил:
● ROAS 190%
● ROI –0,3%
Если судить только по ROAS, то вложения выгодны, а вот ROI показывает, что инвестиции в рекламу не окупаются, компания теряет деньги, а ситуацию надо исправлять.
Формула расчёта ROI
ROI тоже считают в процентах, его формула похожа на ROMI, но для расчёта надо брать все расходы и все доходы, а не только маркетинговые.
ROI = ((Доход — Затраты) / Затраты) * 100%
ROI больше 0% означает, что инвестиции были выгодны — компания получила прибыль. Если ровно 0% — компания осталась «при своих»: ничего не потеряла, но и ничего не заработала. Отрицательный ROI — это убыток. Компания потеряла всё, что вложила.
Разобраться с маркетинговыми формулами, научиться правильно их считать и анализировать можно на курсе «Интернет-маркетолог». Обучение ведётся по интерактивному учебнику-тренажёру, а занятия ведут эксперты-практики.
Какой ROI считается хорошим
ROI больше 0% — уже хорошо — значит, компания что-то заработала. Чем выше процент — тем больше прибыли получает компания, поэтому нужно стремиться оптимизировать расходы и увеличивать конверсии в продажу.
Но не всегда высокий ROI — это большая прибыль, а низкий — маленькая. Сейчас объясним.
Например, компания запустила две рекламные кампании на коврик для йоги стоимостью 1 500 ₽. Вот такие результаты получились:
Кажется, что вторая кампания успешнее, потому что ROI больше. Но если копнуть глубже, то оказывается, что в первой кампании прибыль больше — значит, на ней удалось заработать больше.
Кажется, что считать ROI не нужно и достаточно просто отталкиваться от прибыли. Но показатель ROI демонстрирует объективную картину только тогда, когда компания максимально использует свои ресурсы.
У каждой компании есть предел того, сколько товаров в месяц получится произвести или продать. Например, бизнес по производству мыла ручной работы может выполнять в месяц 100 заказов. А продаёт только половину — 50 кусочков мыла так и остаётся лежать на складе. Пока компания не начнёт продавать больше, ROI так и будет низким. Но как только получится увеличить рекламный бюджет, запустить новые каналы продаж и продавать весь произведённый товар, ROI начнёт увеличиваться.
Есть несколько способов увеличить ROI в рекламе:
1. Оптимизировать рекламные кампании.
Убыточные каналы — отключить, прибыльные — развивать. Улучшать креативы, анализировать аудитории.
2. Точно подбирать ключевые слова для рекламных баннеров и объявлений.
Одна из причин, почему рекламная кампания не сработала, может быть в том, что объявление нерелевантно интересу пользователя. Поэтому важно знать свою целевую аудиторию и её потребности, и говорить о них в рекламных предложениях.
3. Переводить пользователя на ту страницу сайта, которая соответствует рекламе.
Пользователь, который кликнул по рекламе, скорее всего, заинтересовался предложением в объявлении. Он ожидает, что перейдёт туда, где получит больше информации. Поэтому нужно проверить ссылки в рекламных объявлениях и исправить, если они ведут на страницу, которая не соответствует тематике запроса.
Если реклама эффективна, то для увеличения ROI можно оптимизировать посадочные страницы: увеличить скорость загрузки, добавить триггеры доверия, например, отзывы клиентов, фото сотрудников или сертификаты качества товаров.
Отдел продаж тоже влияет на показатель ROI. Если увеличить скорость ответа на запросы пользователей, улучшить скрипты продаж и условия доставки продуктов, то ROI начнёт расти.
Пример расчёта ROI
Своевременный расчёт ROI поможет бизнесу не совершать ошибок и увеличивать прибыль, понять текущую ситуацию и принять конкретное решение. Если показатель низкий, это нужно исправлять: например, отключить рекламный канал, сделать редизайн сайта или отпустить на отдых часть отдела продаж, если всё дело в выгоревших продавцах, а не в работе маркетолога.
Допустим, компания «Намасте» продаёт товары для йоги и маркетолог запустил контекстную рекламу ковриков со слонами, чтобы привлечь пользователей из поиска. После окончания рекламной кампании специалист считает ROI.
ROI отрицательный, реклама убыточна. Нужно выяснить, где проблема, рассчитать ROMI и ROAS, оптимизировать рекламные кампании: урезать расходы, отключить неработающие кампании, подобрать ключевые слова для объявлений. Не будет лишним проверить работу продавцов, чтобы увеличить конверсии в продажи.
Юрий Вавилин
Часто клиент совершает длинный путь до покупки. Например, видит рекламу на разных сайтах и в соцсетях, заходит на сайт и смотрит товары, отвлекается на новый эпизод сериала, откладывает решение о покупке и вспоминает на следующий день. Рассчитать ROI с учётом всех затрат в таком случае невозможно. Поэтому маркетологи упрощают процесс и считают ROI по последнему значимому источнику.
ROI можно считать в Excel или Google таблицах. Есть специальные онлайн-сервисы с готовой формулой ROI, например MMF или Ciox.
Главное — перепроверять цифры и формулы. Неверный результат может создать проблемы бизнесу. Если ошибиться в расчётах, но при этом думать, что всё хорошо, не получится вовремя среагировать, чтобы не потерять, как минимум, часть прибыли.
Совет эксперта
Юрий Вавилин
Главный совет — не лениться считать метрики. Для расчётов надо запрашивать у руководства данные по прибыли и доходам, потому что без них вывести коэффициенты не получится. Лучшая картина получится, если считать все метрики в разбивке по кампаниям или в креативах — сразу видно, какие кампании принесли деньги в бизнес. А потом начинать эти кампании масштабировать.
10 книг для начинающих маркетологов
Целевая аудитория:
примеры, определение, портрет ЦА
If your company only invests money in development, but does not earn it, that’s definitely something to think about. ROAS, ROI, ROMI metrics are used to evaluate the effectiveness of investments in business and individual areas of work and, as a result, to see the weak spots and make the right decisions to change the strategy.
Each metric is suitable for a different degree of company overview. ROI is a complete assessment of the success of investments; it takes into account all revenues and expenses. ROMI is calculated when working with marketing. ROAS is used for individual advertising campaigns.
Metrics are often confused, so in this post we are going to figure out what they mean, how they differ, and why each is needed. We will also tell you how to calculate ROAS, ROI and ROMI correctly.
What is ROI
Return on Investment, or ROI is used to understand how much is earned from each dollar invested. The ROI formula takes into account the costs of creating, maintaining, and promoting a product. This includes the cost of purchasing materials, salaries, the budget for advertising campaigns, etc.
Why and how to calculate ROI
The calculation of ROI is important for assessing the profitability of your business: whether investments pay off and whether there is a profit from them. When the ROI is low, the decision is made to close unprofitable projects or change the marketing strategy and the entire direction of the company’s development. ROI saves you from wasting your budget and tells where to invest money to get a better result.
ROI formula (%):
ROI is calculated for a certain period, but during this period there should not be a dramatic change in circumstances, such as price hikes, new suppliers, and so on. In the formula, revenue is the money earned by the company. Costs include all investments made.
Also, the time interval for calculation depends on the sales cycle length.
What is a good ROI? Usually a result above 0% means that you have made a profit. Below that figure means the business is losing money. Exactly 0% ROI means that the business has paid off the investment, but has not earned anything.
Example. In September, a sportswear store spent 10,000 dollars to update its clothing collection, paid employees 5,000 dollars in salary, and bought advertising for 3,000 dollars. This month, the store’s sales amounted to 22,000 dollars. ROI = (22000-18000)/18000=22%. This is not a high value, but at the same time, the costs paid off in full, and the store’s activities in September made a profit.
How to increase ROI
- Check the effectiveness of marketing channels and disable or adjust those that bring low results.
- Work with your target audience. It is possible that low quality leads are coming in because you are addressing the wrong people in your ads.
- Connect sales and marketing if there is inconsistency or problems getting information to another department. Sometimes a successful advertising campaign comes to naught if the sales team does not handle leads the right way.
- Revise your business goals and make sure they are realistic. Exaggerated plans will not bring results if there are not enough resources.
What is ROMI
Return on Marketing Investment, or ROI is used to understand how much is earned from every dollar invested in marketing. Marketing expenses include the costs of advertising, promotions, events and other marketing activities. It can also be calculated for individual channels, such as messenger or email campaigns, contextual advertising, and so on.
Why and how to calculate ROMI
The metric is important for evaluating the effectiveness of promotion. ROMI gives businesses a broader view of marketing. If you evaluate the superficial result (the number of clicks, applications, etc.), you can decide that the campaigns are successful. However, after calculating the return on investment, it turns out that you spend more money on marketing than you earn from it.
ROMI formula:
The ROMI formula is similar to the ROI calculation, but the costs include only the costs of marketing tools.
Example. The company spent 3,100 dollars on contextual advertising, 1,000 dollars on email campaigns, and 900 dollars on influencers to promote products. In the current month, the company’s income amounted to 4,500 dollars. ROMI is (4500-5000)/5000= –10%.
What is a good ROMI? More than 0% means that the investment pays off. Less than 0% — costs exceed revenue. 0% shows that investments go «to zero». In the example above, the investment does not recoup the costs.
How to increase ROMI
- Make it easier for users to buy. Remove unnecessary steps in advertising and on the site. Don’t force interested leads to fill out dozens of fields and confirmations. Let them reach the “Buy” button faster.
- Check the effectiveness of channels and individual advertising campaigns. Don’t invest in things that don’t work. Always look for ways to optimize your advertising and website — test hypotheses and reject unsuccessful solutions. Invest more in high-priority channels that generate revenue.
Reliable data management system increases control over marketing performance. Altcraft Platform automates the work with advertising and collects information from different sources in a single profile, so the company knows everything about customers. As a result, marketers make the right decisions and choose profitable strategies.
What is ROAS
Return on Ad Spend, or ROAS is a measure of the return on investment a business spends on advertising. It is used to check how much money has returned from investments in individual ad campaigns or channels. The ROAS formula includes advertising revenue (due to customers who saw the ad, clicked on the link and bought) and campaign costs (usually the cost of advertising on sites and excluding the work of a specialist).
Why and how to calculate ROAS
ROAS is a metric that shows the effectiveness of a particular advertising campaign or promotion channel. You can evaluate individual strategies and techniques to eliminate unsuccessful ones and allocate a larger budget for successful ones. Thus, ROAS is needed to make decisions on specific marketing actions, but not on the entire strategy, as ROMI.
ROAS formula:
The total metric for a campaign or individual ads is calculated.
Example. The online store launched a Facebook advertising campaign and sent out an email campaign. Facebook advertising expenses amounted to 1,000 dollars, and the revenue received was 1,800 dollars. The email campaigns cost the company 300 dollars, and the revenue was 1,200 dollars. The ROAS of an advertising campaign on Facebook is 1800/1000=180%. And the ROAS of email campaigns is 1200/300=400%. Perhaps the company should increase the investment in email marketing, since it brings more profit for every dollar invested in advertising.
What is a good ROAS? The calculation is different from ROI and ROMI. ROAS is considered good if its value is above 100%. Otherwise, investments in advertising do not pay off.
How to increase ROAS
- Change creatives and offers of advertising campaigns that are not performing well. Check them out through testing.
- Drop the channels that bring insignificant results.
- Find weaknesses in the sales funnel and work out the places where leads are lost.
- Check the effectiveness of the site: clarity, speed, accessibility, etc.
The difference between ROI, ROMI and ROAS
The metrics are similar, but differ in scale. Some show the business globally, others in more detail. Let’s compare them in the table.
Difference | ROI | ROMI | ROAS |
---|---|---|---|
Calculate the return on investment in… | business | marketing | ad campaigns |
Used to… | Сhange the overall business strategy and focus areas | Test effectiveness and adjust marketing strategies | Change or cancel advertising campaigns |
What costs to consider… | all (creation, maintenance, product promotion, and so on) | only marketing | only the budget of individual campaigns |
Formula | (Revenue − Costs) / Costs * 100% | (Revenue − Marketing costs) / Marketing costs * 100% | Campaign revenue / Campaign cost * 100% |
Key points when working with ROI, ROMI and ROAS
- Consider the context of the metrics. Pay attention to the circumstances (market conditions) and don’t look at metrics in isolation.
- Collect accurate and complete data for the right analytics. Choose a convenient system for data management.
- Correctly determine the calculation period, which depends on the duration of the sale. The longer the deal, the longer the time span.
Conclusion
ROAS, ROI, ROMI are metrics that help to understand the effectiveness of investments in a business: whether the money spent on its development pays off. ROI refers to more global and general metrics. It takes into account the return on investment after calculating all investments made (from the cost of producing to advertising). ROMI shows the effectiveness of marketing investments. ROAS is responsible for the return on investment of individual advertising campaigns.
Metrics give a hint what to change in the work of the company. ROI is needed to adjust overall strategies. ROMI is calculated to adjust marketing strategies. ROAS answers the question of what to do with specific ads, newsletters, and other campaigns.
It is important to consider all metrics in context with other business data and use analytics systems.
Статья обновлена 08.06.2022
Аббревиатура ROI расшифровывается как Return On Investment, что в переводе с английского языка означает «коэффициент возврата вложенных инвестиций». Метрика позволяет оценить прибыльность проекта.
В сегодняшней статье мы подробно разберем, что такое ROI и как считать его значение. Также определим, для чего используется этот показатель и какая его величина считается нормальной.
ROI — что это такое и когда требуется
Определение ROI, return on investment, звучит так: это финансовый показатель, который отражает окупаемость средств, потраченных на проект, рекламу или продукт. Проще говоря, идет ли проект к профиту или убытку. Коэффициент окупаемости инвестиций показывает, стоит ли продолжать вкладываться в конкретные процессы или лучше сразу от них отказаться и не тратить деньги напрасно.
Под вложениями подразумеваются сумма всех расходов: стоимость оборудования, зарплата сотрудников, изготовление продукции, аренда помещений, маркетинг и так далее.
ROI, ROMI, ROAS, ДРР: в чем разница
Все 4 показателя помогают оценить эффективность проекта, но каждый по-своему.
- ROMI
Это специальная модель для вычисления рентабельности затрат на продвижение. Измеряется она аналогично ROI, однако работает исключительно как формула в маркетинге. Расчет используется в основном для аналитики рекламы. При помощи показателя возврата маркетинговых инвестиций можно понять, приносят ли те прибыль. Он помогает оценивать эффективность рекламных кампаний. Например, результативность контекстной рекламы в Яндекс.Директ, уровень рентабельности платного продвижения в SMM и прочие онлайн-активности.
Формулы схожи, но важно понимать главное различие: вторая — исключительно о возврате маркетинговых расходов, а первая помогает вычислить долю окупаемости для всего бизнеса.
- ROAS и ДРР
Рассмотрим также две формулы:
1) ROAS — рентабельность вклада в продвижение;
2) ДРР — доля рекламных расходов.
Они учитывают исключительно сумму чистых инвестиций в рекламу.
Чаще всего в рекламных кабинетах и аналитических системах показывается именно одна из этих цифр. Причина — обычно в эти сервисы занесены только расходы рекламного бюджета и доходы с заказов. Себестоимость, затраты на маркетинг и операционная деятельность редко учитываются в CRM.
Так что если вас интересует только окупаемость рекламы, изучите приведенные выше формулы и на основании полученных данных сделайте анализ. Если же общие или рекламные затраты не окупаются, нужно найти причину и устранить ее.
- ROI
ROI — коэффициент окупаемости инвестиций. Это самый общий показатель, который охватывает весь проект. Далее расскажем, в каких случаях применяется эта метрика.
Когда нужен расчет показателя ROI
Показатель ROI применяется в следующих ситуациях.
- Для анализа инвестиций в стартап, проект или компанию. Речь может идти о строительстве недвижимости, приложении для смартфона, оценке доходности вновь открытого магазина и так далее.
- При покупке акций или в ценных бумаг. Например, можно проанализировать баланс капитала за год. Итоговый коэффициент покажет рентабельность или убыточность вложений. На основе полученных данных вы сможете принять решение о дальнейших действиях.
Коэффициент возврата вложенных инвестиций позволит понять, правильно ли используются средства. То есть определить количество поступающей прибыли,узнать рентабельность тех или иных материальных активов.
Однако на ROI ориентируются не только для оценки уже проделанной работы. Его рассматривают и учитывают, чтобы избежать ошибок, которые в дальнейшем приведут к бесполезной трате денег. Компаниям часто приходится принимать стратегические решения, которые в перспективе окажут серьезное влияние на доходность бизнеса. Например, стоит ли приобретать сырье для изготовления продукции, нужно ли вкладывать деньги в конкретный рекламный канал, продолжать ли участвовать в проекте. Показатель эффективности помогает оценить процент прибыли, который бизнес получит в будущем.
Во всех основных аналитических сервисах можно настроить отчеты с учетом ROI. В Яндекс.Метрике, например, есть даже готовый шаблон на этот случай. В нем можно наглядно ознакомиться с итогами активности в интернет-маркетинге.
Чтобы увидеть такие данные в отчетах, настройте интеграцию вашей CRM-системы и Метрики.
Если коэффициент высокий, то проект успешен. Однако у «высоты» показателя есть свои нюансы, об этом расскажем позже.
Показатель ROI в интернет-маркетинге играет важную роль. Это полезный инструмент для точных вычислений. Но при этом он никак не применим в вопросах имиджевого продвижения и прочих сферах, где результатом являются качественные показатели, а не количественные. В таких случаях расчет значений не принесет ценных статистических данных. Далее расскажем о других случаях, когда нет смысла рассчитывать ROI.
Когда бесполезен расчет показателя ROI
- Долгий цикл продаж
Коэффициент возврата инвестиций сложно рассчитать для бизнеса с долгим циклом продаж. Например, для компаний, продающих недвижимость. Часто сделка занимает несколько месяцев, и если вы начнете считать ROI в первый из них, то получите отрицательный показатель. Хотя на самом деле покупатель может найтись позднее, и все вложения окупятся в троекратном размере.
В таком случае очень важно считать:
- CPL — стоимость одного лида;
- CAC — стоимость привлечение одного клиента;
- конверсию из лида в покупку.
Также часто применяется когортный анализ, а не анализ по ROI, так как тут лиды делятся на когорты.
Когорты — это группы, в которых участники имеют общие критерии или признаки. Деление используется для более целевой рекламы.
Например, покупателей магазина онлайн и офлайн можно разделить на 5 когорт:
1) покупатели сразу;
2) покупатели через месяц;
3) покупатели через квартал;
4) покупатели через пол года;
5) покупатели через год.
Тогда анализ эффективности продвижения проводится по этим когортам, а не по общему ROI. Так как разная реклама может привлекать все когорты сразу или какие-то отдельные сегменты.
Процесс расчета усложняется и в деле долгосрочных проектов, где вычисление показателя на этапах становления стартапа ничего не даст.
- Для товаров с сильно отличающимся ценником
При наличии широкого ассортимента товаров с различным ценовым диапазоном также могут возникнуть трудности. ROI уравняет все покупки и не даст видение по результатам каждого продукта отдельно. Более дорогие товары в общей массе испортят статистику и не дадут точных цифр. В такой ситуации рекомендуется сегментировать товары и рассчитывать показатель отдельно для каждой из категорий.
Как посчитать ROI: примеры и методы
Выше мы привели формулу, как посчитать данную метрику:
ROI = (доход от вложений – размер вложений) / размер вложений × 100%
Математически определить Return On Investment несложно, но также можно использовать и некоторые другие показатели, которые позволяют проанализировать эффективность конкретной кампании.
Рекомендуем рассматривать сразу несколько метрик для получения наиболее полной картины.
Ведь как сказано выше — ROI далеко не всегда является универсальным средством анализа эффективности.
Примеры расчета ROI
Рассмотрим несколько примеров вычислений показателя возврата инвестиций для различных сфер бизнеса.
Пример 1
Дано. Компания продает шторы на окна. На процесс логистики, магазин, сотрудников, бухгалтерию и налоги тратит примерно 40%. Средний чек составляет 10 000 рублей. Задача — продать товар и получить прибыль в размере 500 000 рублей.
Реклама: Контекстное продвижение с бюджетом 100 000 рублей и стоимостью работ интернет-маркетологов в 20 000 рублей.
Продажи: 50 продаж, прибыль 500 000 рублей.
Расходы бизнеса: 200 000 рублей на налоги, доставку, аренду магазина и оплата кассиру.
Прибыль с продаж: 300 000 рублей.
Доход с учетом расходов на рекламу: 300 000 – 100000 – 20000 = 180 000 рублей
ROI = (500000 – 200000 – 120000)/320 000 × 100% = 56,25%
Полученное значение показывает, что кампания на вложенные 320 000 рублей окупилась чуть больше, чем в полтора раза. Точка безубыточности по этой формуле — 0%. Цифра будет означать, что на проекте заработали столько же, сколько вложили.
Пример 2
Дано. Человек потратил 500 000 рублей на акции компании по производству картонных коробов. Задача — оценить рентабельность.
Прибыль:
- 2020 год: 0 рублей
- 2021 год: 300 000 рублей
- 2022 год: 1 700 000 рублей
Возврат инвестиций:
- 2020 год: ROI = (-500000 – 500000)/500000 × 100% = -100%
- 2021 год: ROI = (-200000 – 500000)/500000 × 100% = -40%
- 2022 год: ROI = (2000000 – 500000)/500000 × 100% = 300%
В данном примере мы видим отрицательный показатель за первый и второй годы вложений. Если же рассчитать значение за весь период инвестиций, получится ROI = 300% — проект рентабелен.
Получается, что прибыль появилась только на третий год после вложений. В данном случае стоит оценить, есть ли источники для инвестиций с меньшим сроком окупаемости, и сделать выводы о дальнейшем распределении средств.
Пример 3
Дано. Квартира за 3 000 0000 рублей сдается в аренду. Задача — рассчитать, через какой период времени она окупится.
Расходы: 200 000 рублей на ремонт.
Прибыль:
2017 год: 500 000 рублей
2018 год: 500 000 рублей
2019 год: 500 000 рублей
2020 год: 600 000 рублей
2021 год: 700 000 рублей
2022 год: 700 000 рублей
Возврат инвестиций:
- 2017 год: ROI = (500 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = -84,37%
- 2018 год: ROI = (1 000 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = -68,75%
- 2019 год: ROI = ( 1 500 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = -53,12%
- 2020 год: ROI = (2 100 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = -34,37%
- 2021 год: ROI = (2 800 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = -12,5%
- 2022 год: ROI = ( 3 500 000 – 3 200 000)/3 200 000 × 100% = 9,3%
Мы видим, что квартира начала окупаться на шестой год вложений. ROI в 2022 составил 9,3%. Все предыдущие годы значения были отрицательными.
Особенности расчета ROI для стартапов
У стартапов вычисление усложняется за счет особенностей бизнеса, однако суть остается неизменной. При анализе стоит учитывать следующие нюансы:
- большие вложения на старте задолго до выхода в плюс;
- требуются значительные затраты на поддержание бизнеса;
- как только прибыль превысила расходы на поддержание, проект начинает окупаться.
Какой метод подсчета ROI выбрать: формула в Excel, онлайн-калькулятор или ручной способ
Формула, позволяющая оценить эффективность инвестиций, может быть подсчитана разными методами. Необходимо учитывать все возможные показатели, чтобы вычислить корректный коэффициент окупаемости инвестиций. Однако одно лишь значение ROI не может дать полное понимание о качестве работы всей компании. Бизнес должен уметь правильно использовать аналитическую информацию, опираясь на результат вычислений. А по итогам анализа вносить корректировки в стратегию развития, рекламную кампанию и прочие процессы.
- Ручной способ
Вручную можно вести подсчеты в той ситуации, когда нужно разобраться во всех тонкостях подсчета инвестиционного проекта, а также понять, откуда берется тот или иной показатель. В остальных случаях не следует так подсчитывать ROI, поскольку вы потратите на это много сил и времени, а результат может оказаться неточным из-за человеческого фактора.
- Excel
Есть более автоматизированные способы, как вести подсчеты. Например, перенести данные из CRM в простую таблицу Excel. Это наглядно демонстрирует всю сложившуюся ситуацию. Пример расчета ROI в таблице:
Объект | Общие затраты | Заказы | Себестоимость товара | Прибыль | ROI |
Товар 1 | 500 | 3 | 800 | 6000 | 361,54 % |
Товар 2 | 1000 | 1 | 500 | 3000 | 100,00 % |
Товар 3 | 500 | 3 | 800 | 6000 | 361,54 % |
Товар 4 | 500 | 5 | 5000 | 15000 | 172,73 % |
- Специальные калькуляторы
Вычислить значения можно более оперативно, воспользовавшись любым из онлайн-калькуляторов ROI. В Сети представлено множество вариантов подобных сервисов с разным количеством переменных. Это простой способ быстро вычислить результат.
- Продвинутые методы
Наиболее оптимальным методом сверки является тот вариант, где собраны все данные одновременно. Стоит учитывать, что базовые возможности систем аналитики не учтут офлайн продаж, а в CRM-систему не будут поступать сведения о продажах по телефону, если не интегрировать эту систему с коллтрекингом.
Собрать все данные на единой площадке, систематизировать их и получить отчеты в понятном виде можно при помощи сервиса сквозной аналитики ROMI center. Вы потратите меньше времени на консолидацию информации и сможете продуктивнее проанализировать все действующие источники продаж и трафика.
Выбирайте способ вычисления исходя из ваших предпочтений, наличия времени и цели анализа.
Какие ошибки возможны при расчете ROI
Из-за большого количества данных в расчете и специфики жизненных циклов продаж могут возникнуть следующие ошибки.
- Специалист не включил в затраты дополнительные расходы. Возможно он не обратил внимание на комиссии и налоги, платежи подрядчикам, эксплуатационные затраты. Подобные расходы обязательно нужно учесть, иначе результат исказится.
- В расчете упущен источник прибыли. Например, вы посчитали доход от розничных продаж, но не учли оптовые. Или забыли добавить полученные средства от субаренды своего помещения. Из внимания может ускользнуть множество деталей: продажи через Интернет, по телефону, доход от партнерских мероприятий и так далее.
- Анализ ROI проведен на основании недостаточного количества данных. ROI — это данные обо всех доходах и расходах за выбранный период. Соответственно, его невозможно собрать без нескольких отчетов: по прибыли, по маркетинговым расходам, по затратам на операционную деятельность, производство, налоги. Упустив один из этих пунктов, вы можете получить недостоверную информацию.
Какой показатель ROI считается оптимальным
Нередко возникает вопрос, какой ROI можно назвать нормальным или даже хорошим. Важно не только правильно рассчитать ROI, но и знать, что делать с итоговой информацией. Результат может о многом рассказать, но всё же решение по поводу того, как быть дальше, придется принимать самостоятельно.
Каковы оптимальные числовые показатели в основной формуле рентабельности инвестиций?
- ROI = 0%. Если число хотя бы достигло нуля, процесс окупился, хотя такое значение нельзя назвать высоким. Значение меньше 100 процентов не является точкой безубыточности. Однако большинство владельцев бизнеса стремится получить по меньшей мере 100% при применении данной формулы.
- ROI равен 100 процентам. Это указывает, что вложенные средства не только окупились, но и принесли прибыль.
Не всегда отрицательный ROI говорит о финансовых потерях организации. Это может проявиться у бизнеса с долгим циклом сделки. К примеру, у поселка элитных загородных таунхаусов могут оказаться весьма существенные суммарные вложения на рекламу. Но с момента отправки заявки до момента оплаты в таких случаях обычно проходит несколько месяцев. Зато потом оплата покупки одного коттеджа с лихвой покроет все расходы на продвижение.
Также усложнен подобный расчет для валютных и фондовых рынков. Для них считается оптимальным как положительный, так и отрицательный ROI. Рост акций может сменяться их падением буквально через несколько часов, поэтому в таком случае лучше оценивать метрику за более долгосрочный период — за полугодие и год.
Как видно из аргументов выше, ответить на вопрос, каким должен быть показатель ROI — однозначно сложно. Безусловно, оптимальное значение — это всё, что выше 0. При расчете стоит учитывать специфику бизнеса и конкурентные условия. Чем больше соперников на рынке, тем ниже норма показателя. Максимального потолка у ROI не существует, действует правило «Чем больше — тем лучше».
Как увеличить ROI
Рассмотрим четыре способа повышения рассматриваемого показателя. Каждый из них имеет свои особенности.
- Снижение затрат на неэффективные вложения. Нужно найти, на чем можно сэкономить, но подойти к этому обдуманно. Вполне возможно, что за некоторые вещи всё-таки придется платить, так как именно они приносят доход. Для оптимизации расходов в формуле ROI нужен комплексный подход: важно пересмотреть процессы от производства и маркетинга до операционных расходов и налогов.
- Увеличение дохода. Чтобы этого добиться, можно расширить перечень услуг, отыскать новые рынки сбыта. Подойдут любые варианты, актуальные для конкретной сферы деятельности. Также необходимо масштабировать прибыльные источники дохода. Для этого нужно заранее определить рентабельность отдельных каналов, продуктов и так далее.
- Изменение методики распределения расходов на определенный проект. Потребуется проверить, насколько корректен экономический прогноз. По возможности следует иначе распределить затраты между проектами и продуктами. С точки зрения маркетинга это предполагает исключение нерентабельных инвестиций. Их бюджет можно направить на рентабельные продукты для масштабирования.
Для выполнения всех этих пунктов потребуется тщательная работа с системой аналитики, которая фиксирует всю информацию по расходам и эффективности. Это даст понимание, что именно отключать, а что масштабировать. К тому же сэкономит немало сил и времени.
Чтобы перераспределять рекламные бюджеты локально и маркетинговые усилия в общем, недостаточно просто хорошей аналитики. Нужен еще и специалист, который будет анализировать полученные вводные и на их основе вносить корректировки в рекламные кампании и коммуникационную стратегию.
Заключение
Мы рассказали о метрике возврата инвестиций и том, как ее считать и интерпретировать. Важно оценить все показатели: вложения и в офлайн, и в интернет-маркетинг, и в партнерские коллаборации. По итогам можно делать выводы и оптимизировать рекламу, производство, продажи.
Make the most of your campaigns
Mailchimp has the tools to help you maximize your marketing budget and grow your business.
There are many different metrics businesses use to evaluate profitability and general financial health. One of the most popular, and most effective, whether when investing capital or implementing a marketing strategy such as PPC campaign, is return on investment (ROI).
In this article, we’ll cover all the basics you need to know about ROI, from the ROI formula calculation, to some tactics you can use to increase your ROI as well as the limitations of ROI.
What is ROI?
In business, your investments are the resources you put into improving your company, like time and money. The return is the profit you make as a result of your investments.
ROI is generally defined as the ratio of net profit over the total cost of the investment.
ROI is most useful to your business goals when it refers to something concrete and measurable, to identify your investment’s gains and financial returns. Analyzing investments in terms of monetary cost is the most popular method because it’s the easiest to quantify, although it’s also possible to calculate ROI using time as an investment.
The ROI metric or ROI figure is also applied across different types of investments and industries: return on equity, return on ad spend, return on assets, social return on investment, etc.
Examples of investments
The term “investments” is often used to refer to buying stock in a company or financing another person’s business venture. Investments you make in your own business are distinct from these, but have a similar purpose: to increase your profit.
Depending on your industry, the types of investments you make can look very different. They don’t always have to be tangible, like an initial investment in new equipment or higher quality materials. An online store owner or app developer, for example, might make investments in more digital goods like cloud-based storage services or a subscription to a new content management software, that might have maintenance costs, for which it would be desirable to identify the return of investment or ROI.
Other examples of common business investments include ad campaigns and leases for brick-and-mortar retail locations.
How to calculate ROI
ROI is calculated as the net profit during a certain time divided by the cost of investment, which is then multiplied by 100 to express the ratio as a percentage. The equation looks like this:
ROI = (Net Profit / Investment) x 100
The value of net profit should be taken from your company’s profit and loss (P&L) statement.
Calculating ROI in practice
Here are some examples of what calculating an ROI might look like for a business.
Scenario 1: Samantha’s e-commerce business
Samantha owns an e-commerce site that sells cat-themed merchandise. It’s right around the holiday season and she wants to increase awareness and sales, so she decides to invest in some social media ads. She spends a total of $1,000 for ads across social media channels to attract holiday shoppers to her site.
Once the holiday season comes to an end, Samantha calculates her net profit and learns her e-commerce store has earned $5,000 more than it did during the same period last year. She can then calculate the ROI of the ads as:
ROI = ($5,000 / $1,000) x 100 = 500%
This means that for every dollar Samantha spent on the ads, she got back $5 in net profit. Encouraged by this strong ROI, she can begin to budget for an increased spend for the next holiday season.
Scenario 2: Mario’s Pizzeria
Mario owns a pizzeria on a side street in New York City. He notices business is slow and starts to brainstorm ways he can improve his business. Guessing that the quality of his pizza may not be meeting customer expectations, Mario decides to swap out his outdated pizza oven for a cutting-edge replacement.
The new pizza oven costs $500. By the end of the year, his pizzeria ends up earning $2,000 more than it had the year before.
Given that the new pizza oven was the only atypical investment made by Mario during the year, the return on investment for that year can be calculated as:
ROI = ($2,000 / $500) x 100 = 400%
This means that each dollar Mario spent on the new pizza oven generated $4 in net profit. Because Mario’s new oven will continue to generate increased sales over time, his ROI will grow as time passes.
Scenario 3: Mike’s freelance video editing work
ROI is usually calculated in terms of cost of investment, but you can also use it to determine whether the time you spend on a project is worth the monetary return.
Mike is a graduate student who decides to supplement his monthly stipend with freelance video editing work. He quickly finds a client and earns $200 in the first month.
While this $200 is nice extra pocket money, Mike notices himself falling behind in his classes. He decides to calculate his personal ROI from the editing work to determine how much time he should split between classes and freelancing.
It took Mike 20 hours to complete his freelance work, so he can calculate his ROI as:
ROI = ($200 / 20 hours) = $10 per hour
Mike can now consider whether each hour spent studying for class is worth more than $10, then adjust the time he allocates to his freelance work.
Why is ROI important?
Calculating an ROI can help you understand how an investment directly contributes to your business. This is a useful tool for evaluating your past business decisions and informing future ones. You can also use information from ROI calculations to compare new business opportunities and decide which to pursue.
If a certain kind of investment returns a high net profit, you can focus more time and energy on similar investments. Investments that don’t generate enough profit to cover their costs can indicate that you should try a new strategy or invest in a different area of your business.
Challenges to determining ROI
Calculating ROI is not always clear-cut. Some investments will overlap, making it difficult to determine which investment generated the most profit.
In the case of Samantha’s social media ad spending, she may not be able to determine if any single social media platform contributed largely to her returns. She may also have other ongoing investments to thank for her increase in sales, like a monthly email newsletter campaign or word-of-mouth marketing.
Despite the potential difficulty of determining the ROI of a specific investment, the metric is still very useful when trying to ensure you earn more than you spend. Don’t worry about complete accuracy when calculating ROI, instead consider how you’ll be able to measure results each time you make a new investment.
How to increase your ROI
Depending on the kinds of investments you want to make, the best way to increase returns will change. However, there are a few universal strategies you can try out before making investments to better your chances of getting a high ROI.
Make analytics your friend
Samantha’s social media spend is a good example of the importance of using tools with advanced analytics capabilities. When considering an investment trequiring the use of a platform or external software, pay attention to the reporting features different providers offer. Statistics like website traffic and customer engagement are particularly useful when measuring the success of an investment.
Know your market
Effectively connecting with your target audience is one of the best ways to boost your ROI. Investments that will deepen your knowledge of your target market or increase their engagement with your brand will likely have high returns because these are the people who are most likely to buy from you.
Examples of investments you can make to connect with your target market include conducting marketing research and creating targeted ad campaigns with your audience in mind.
Be willing to experiment
The real test of any idea’s value will come in the market, so don’t be afraid to try something that doesn’t come with a tried-and-true track record. Start small with more experimental tactics—you can measure ROI over a shorter period of time to test whether an investment is worth expanding.
The more practice you have with thinking about your ROI, the more refined your decision making will become. ROI is only a single performance metric, but it’s one of the most essential tools for business owners looking to get the most out of their investments.
When you invest in an asset for your small business, you want it to eventually turn a profit. But, how do you measure the profitability of your investments? You can use return on investment (ROI) calculations to see how much income your assets generate.
Return on investment (ROI) is a profitability ratio that measures how well your investments perform. In other words, ROI lets you know if the money you shell out for your business is flowing back in as revenue. To find return on investment, divide your net revenue by the cost of your investment. For example, if you had a net revenue of $30,000 and your investment cost you $20,000, your ROI is 0.5 (or 50%).
ROI = (gain from investment – cost of investment) / cost of investment
You write ROI as a percentage. The greater the percentage, the better the investment.
Example
The first step to finding your return on investment is to subtract the costs of your investment from the gains of your investment. The costs include any expenses you pay that go directly into the investment. For example, one cost could be a shipment of inventory. Your gains include any revenue you earned from the investment. You do not subtract interest or income tax payments for this calculation.
Item | Amount |
---|---|
Revenue | $100,000 |
Cost of goods solds | $45,000 |
Operating expenses | $20,000 |
The chart above shows one company’s gains and costs in an investment. The company made $100,000 in revenue. The company also spent $45,000 on the cost of goods sold and $20,000 in operating expenses.
First, find the total cost of the investment. To do this, add the cost of goods sold to the operating expenses. The total expenses are $65,000 ($45,000 + $20,000).
Then, subtract the total expenses from the revenue. The difference is $35,000 ($100,000 – $65,000).
Next, divide the difference between the investment’s gain and cost by the cost of the investment.
Item | Amount |
---|---|
Investment gain minus cost | $35,000 |
Cost of investment | $65,000 |
Return on investment | 53% |
When you divide the investment’s gain minus the cost by the cost of the investment, you get 0.53 ($35,000/$65,000). To make this a percentage, multiply the number by 100. The ROI is 53%.
This ROI is a strong rate of return and indicates that the company is using its resources efficiently.
Patriot’s accounting software is quick and easy to use!
- Easy onboarding with startup wizard
- Track your expenses with ease
- Free USA-based support
Small business benefits
As a small business owner, ROI calculations can help your company. Your return on investment could help you secure outside funding. A strong return on investment can reduce the risk for investors. If you are applying for a small business loan, your ROI could show that you can pay lenders.
Your return on investment can also help you operate your business more efficiently. You can use the formula to see how successful your investments are. For example, let’s say you ran a marketing campaign on the radio and in the newspaper. You can use the ROI of both methods to see which brought in a higher return.
There is no standard formula for ROI. It is a flexible calculation, meaning you can change it to fit your needs. For example, you might be interested in finding the net sales or the cost of goods sold return on investment, for a more granular ROI definition. Return on investment can help you compare the investments you make for your business.
Do you need a simple way to track money going in and out of your small business? Our online accounting software is made for the non-accountant. We offer free setup and support. Try it for free today.
This article was updated from its original published date August 2, 2012.
This is not intended as legal advice; for more information, please click here.
See Also:
Return on Invested Capital (ROIC)
Return on Common Equity
Internal Rate of Return Method
Return on Investment (ROI) Definition
Return on investment (ROI) is the ratio of profit made in a financial year as a percentage of an investment. In other words, ROI reveals the overall benefit (return) of an investment using the gain or loss from the investment along with the cost of the investment.
Return on Investment (ROI) Explanation
Return on investment is a useful and simple measure of how effective a company generates profits from an investment. Many firms use ROI as a convenient tool to compare the benefit of an investment with the cost of the investment. For example, if a company effectively utilizes an investment and produces gains, ROI will both be high. Whereas if a company ineffectively utilizes an investment and produces losses, ROI will be low. For investors, choosing a company with a good return on investment is important because a high ROI means that the firm is successful at using the investment to generate high returns. Investors will typically avoid an investment with a negative ROI, or if there are other investment opportunities with a positive ROI. Return on investment models are used often because the ROI ratio and inputs can be modified to fit different companies and financial situations.
Similar formulas to calculate profitability include return on equity, return on assets, and return on capital.
How to Find Return on Investment (ROI)
The return on investment ratio calculates the percentage return (profitability) on an investment. Check out the following ROI formula:
Simple Return on Investment Ratio = (Earnings from Investment – Cost of Investment) ÷ Cost of Investment
One issue with the simple return on investment formula is that it is often used for short-term investments, so it does not account for the time value of money. Thus, it is less accurate for calculating ROI for long-term investments over one year. To measure the long term return on investment for future years, use the discounted ROI formula.
Discounted Return on Investment Ratio = Net present value of benefits ÷ Total present value of costs
= (PV Earnings from Investment – PV Cost of Investment ) ÷ PV Cost of Investment
Return on Investment Example
For example, this year, ABC company has produced earnings of $50,000 from an investment. The cost of the investment was $30,000.
Simple Return on Investment Ratio = ($50,000 – $30,000) ÷ $30,000 = 67%
Based on the result, we assume that ABC company has an annual percentage return on investment of 67%. The benefit (gain) was $50,000 and the investment cost was $30,000.
If you want to increase your return on investment, then you need to adopt our method of finding “destroyers” of value. Click here to download the Top 10 Destroyers of Value to maximize the value of your company.
[box]Strategic CFO Lab Member Extra
Access your Exit Strategy Execution Plan in SCFO Lab.
Click here to access your Execution Plan. Not a Lab Member?
Click here to learn more about SCFO Labs[/box]